This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Kenya

Kenya is made up of 47 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Kenya. Information on all primary administrative regions in Kenya.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Kenya alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Kenya

There are 47 regions in Kenya in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Kenya
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Nairobi Area Nairobi1.3,138,369Nairobi Nairobi2,750,547
Mombasa Mombasa2.939,370Mombasa Mombasa799,668
Nakuru Nakuru3.1,603,325Nakuru Nakuru259,903
Uasin Gishu Uasin Gishu4.894,179Eldoret Eldoret218,446
Kisumu Kisumu5.968,909Kisumu Kisumu216,479
Trans Nzoia Trans Nzoia6.818,757Kitale Kitale75,123
Garissa Garissa7.623,060Garissa Garissa67,861
Kakamega Kakamega8.1,660,651Kakamega Kakamega63,426
Vihiga Vihiga9.554,622Mbale Mbale60,000
West Pokot West Pokot10.512,690Kapenguria Kapenguria56,000
Bungoma Bungoma11.1,630,934Bungoma Bungoma55,962
Busia Busia12.488,075Busia Busia51,981
Nyeri Nyeri13.693,558Nyeri Nyeri51,084
Nyandarua Nyandarua14.596,268Ol Kalou Ol Kalou47,795
Meru Meru15.1,356,301Meru Meru47,226
Kilifi Kilifi16.1,109,735Kilifi Kilifi46,118
Wajir Wajir17.661,941Wajir Wajir45,771
Homa Bay Homa Bay18.963,794Homa Bay Homa Bay40,319
Laikipia Laikipia19.399,227Nanyuki Nanyuki36,142
Mandera Mandera20.1,025,756Mandera Mandera36,076
Narok Narok21.850,920Narok Narok36,061
Kericho Kericho22.758,339Kericho Kericho35,748
Migori Migori23.1,028,579Migori Migori35,240
Embu Embu24.516,212Embu Embu34,922
Isiolo Isiolo25.143,294Isiolo Isiolo33,207
Machakos Machakos26.1,098,584Machakos Machakos31,971
Kisii Kisii27.1,152,282Kisii Kisii28,547
Baringo Baringo28.555,561Kabarnet Kabarnet24,661
Lamu Lamu29.101,539Lamu Lamu24,525
Kiambu Kiambu30.1,623,282Kiambu Kiambu21,234
Samburu Samburu31.223,947Maralal Maralal20,841
Turkana Turkana32.855,399Lodwar Lodwar20,219
Kitui Kitui33.1,012,709Kitui Kitui15,954
Marsabit Marsabit34.291,166Marsabit Marsabit15,361
Siaya Siaya35.842,304Siaya Siaya15,354
Kirinyaga Kirinyaga36.528,054Keruguya Keruguya15,287
Taita Taveta Taita Taveta37.284,657Wundanyi Wundanyi12,501
Murang'a District Murang'A38.942,581Murang'a Murang’a11,987
Kajiado Kajiado39.687,312Kajiado Kajiado11,198
Nyamira District Nyamira40.598,252Nyamira Nyamira10,000
Marakwet District Elegeyo-Marakwet41.369,998Kapsowar Kapsowar9,152
Tana River Tana River42.240,075Hola Hola6,932
Makueni Makueni43.884,527Wote Wote6,133
Bomet Bomet44.724,186Bomet Bomet5,270
Kwale Kwale45.649,931Kwale Kwale4,883
Nandi Nandi46.752,965Kapsabet Kapsabet3,758
Tharaka District Tharaka - Nithi47.365,330Kathwana Kathwana-