This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Kenya

Kenya is made up of 47 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Kenya. Information on all primary administrative regions in Kenya.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Kenya alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Kenya

There are 47 regions in Kenya in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Kenya
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Nairobi Area Nairobi1.3,138,369Nairobi Nairobi2,750,547
Kakamega Kakamega2.1,660,651Kakamega Kakamega63,426
Bungoma Bungoma3.1,630,934Bungoma Bungoma55,962
Kiambu Kiambu4.1,623,282Kiambu Kiambu21,234
Nakuru Nakuru5.1,603,325Nakuru Nakuru259,903
Meru Meru6.1,356,301Meru Meru47,226
Kisii Kisii7.1,152,282Kisii Kisii28,547
Kilifi Kilifi8.1,109,735Kilifi Kilifi46,118
Machakos Machakos9.1,098,584Machakos Machakos31,971
Migori Migori10.1,028,579Migori Migori35,240
Mandera Mandera11.1,025,756Mandera Mandera36,076
Kitui Kitui12.1,012,709Kitui Kitui15,954
Kisumu Kisumu13.968,909Kisumu Kisumu216,479
Homa Bay Homa Bay14.963,794Homa Bay Homa Bay40,319
Murang'a District Murang'A15.942,581Murang'a Murang’a11,987
Mombasa Mombasa16.939,370Mombasa Mombasa799,668
Uasin Gishu Uasin Gishu17.894,179Eldoret Eldoret218,446
Makueni Makueni18.884,527Wote Wote6,133
Turkana Turkana19.855,399Lodwar Lodwar20,219
Narok Narok20.850,920Narok Narok36,061
Siaya Siaya21.842,304Siaya Siaya15,354
Trans Nzoia Trans Nzoia22.818,757Kitale Kitale75,123
Kericho Kericho23.758,339Kericho Kericho35,748
Nandi Nandi24.752,965Kapsabet Kapsabet3,758
Bomet Bomet25.724,186Bomet Bomet5,270
Nyeri Nyeri26.693,558Nyeri Nyeri51,084
Kajiado Kajiado27.687,312Kajiado Kajiado11,198
Wajir Wajir28.661,941Wajir Wajir45,771
Kwale Kwale29.649,931Kwale Kwale4,883
Garissa Garissa30.623,060Garissa Garissa67,861
Nyamira District Nyamira31.598,252Nyamira Nyamira10,000
Nyandarua Nyandarua32.596,268Ol Kalou Ol Kalou47,795
Baringo Baringo33.555,561Kabarnet Kabarnet24,661
Vihiga Vihiga34.554,622Mbale Mbale60,000
Kirinyaga Kirinyaga35.528,054Keruguya Keruguya15,287
Embu Embu36.516,212Embu Embu34,922
West Pokot West Pokot37.512,690Kapenguria Kapenguria56,000
Busia Busia38.488,075Busia Busia51,981
Laikipia Laikipia39.399,227Nanyuki Nanyuki36,142
Marakwet District Elegeyo-Marakwet40.369,998Kapsowar Kapsowar9,152
Tharaka District Tharaka - Nithi41.365,330Kathwana Kathwana-
Marsabit Marsabit42.291,166Marsabit Marsabit15,361
Taita Taveta Taita Taveta43.284,657Wundanyi Wundanyi12,501
Tana River Tana River44.240,075Hola Hola6,932
Samburu Samburu45.223,947Maralal Maralal20,841
Isiolo Isiolo46.143,294Isiolo Isiolo33,207
Lamu Lamu47.101,539Lamu Lamu24,525