This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Kenya

Kenya is made up of 47 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Kenya. Information on all primary administrative regions in Kenya.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Kenya alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Kenya

There are 47 regions in Kenya in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Kenya
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Baringo Baringo1.555,561Kabarnet Kabarnet24,661
Bomet Bomet2.724,186Bomet Bomet5,270
Bungoma Bungoma3.1,630,934Bungoma Bungoma55,962
Busia Busia4.488,075Busia Busia51,981
Embu Embu5.516,212Embu Embu34,922
Garissa Garissa6.623,060Garissa Garissa67,861
Homa Bay Homa Bay7.963,794Homa Bay Homa Bay40,319
Isiolo Isiolo8.143,294Isiolo Isiolo33,207
Kajiado Kajiado9.687,312Kajiado Kajiado11,198
Kakamega Kakamega10.1,660,651Kakamega Kakamega63,426
Kericho Kericho11.758,339Kericho Kericho35,748
Kiambu Kiambu12.1,623,282Kiambu Kiambu21,234
Kilifi Kilifi13.1,109,735Kilifi Kilifi46,118
Kirinyaga Kirinyaga14.528,054Keruguya Keruguya15,287
Kisii Kisii15.1,152,282Kisii Kisii28,547
Kisumu Kisumu16.968,909Kisumu Kisumu216,479
Kitui Kitui17.1,012,709Kitui Kitui15,954
Kwale Kwale18.649,931Kwale Kwale4,883
Laikipia Laikipia19.399,227Nanyuki Nanyuki36,142
Lamu Lamu20.101,539Lamu Lamu24,525
Machakos Machakos21.1,098,584Machakos Machakos31,971
Makueni Makueni22.884,527Wote Wote6,133
Mandera Mandera23.1,025,756Mandera Mandera36,076
Marakwet District Elegeyo-Marakwet24.369,998Kapsowar Kapsowar9,152
Marsabit Marsabit25.291,166Marsabit Marsabit15,361
Meru Meru26.1,356,301Meru Meru47,226
Migori Migori27.1,028,579Migori Migori35,240
Mombasa Mombasa28.939,370Mombasa Mombasa799,668
Murang'a District Murang'A29.942,581Murang'a Murang’a11,987
Nairobi Area Nairobi30.3,138,369Nairobi Nairobi2,750,547
Nakuru Nakuru31.1,603,325Nakuru Nakuru259,903
Nandi Nandi32.752,965Kapsabet Kapsabet3,758
Narok Narok33.850,920Narok Narok36,061
Nyamira District Nyamira34.598,252Nyamira Nyamira10,000
Nyandarua Nyandarua35.596,268Ol Kalou Ol Kalou47,795
Nyeri Nyeri36.693,558Nyeri Nyeri51,084
Samburu Samburu37.223,947Maralal Maralal20,841
Siaya Siaya38.842,304Siaya Siaya15,354
Taita Taveta Taita Taveta39.284,657Wundanyi Wundanyi12,501
Tana River Tana River40.240,075Hola Hola6,932
Tharaka District Tharaka - Nithi41.365,330Kathwana Kathwana-
Trans Nzoia Trans Nzoia42.818,757Kitale Kitale75,123
Turkana Turkana43.855,399Lodwar Lodwar20,219
Uasin Gishu Uasin Gishu44.894,179Eldoret Eldoret218,446
Vihiga Vihiga45.554,622Mbale Mbale60,000
Wajir Wajir46.661,941Wajir Wajir45,771
West Pokot West Pokot47.512,690Kapenguria Kapenguria56,000