This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Kenya

Kenya is made up of 47 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Kenya. Information on all primary administrative regions in Kenya.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Kenya alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Kenya

There are 47 regions in Kenya in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Kenya
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Bomet Bomet1.724,186Bomet Bomet5,270
Bungoma Bungoma2.1,630,934Bungoma Bungoma55,962
Busia Busia3.488,075Busia Busia51,981
Uasin Gishu Uasin Gishu4.894,179Eldoret Eldoret218,446
Embu Embu5.516,212Embu Embu34,922
Garissa Garissa6.623,060Garissa Garissa67,861
Tana River Tana River7.240,075Hola Hola6,932
Homa Bay Homa Bay8.963,794Homa Bay Homa Bay40,319
Isiolo Isiolo9.143,294Isiolo Isiolo33,207
Baringo Baringo10.555,561Kabarnet Kabarnet24,661
Kajiado Kajiado11.687,312Kajiado Kajiado11,198
Kakamega Kakamega12.1,660,651Kakamega Kakamega63,426
West Pokot West Pokot13.512,690Kapenguria Kapenguria56,000
Nandi Nandi14.752,965Kapsabet Kapsabet3,758
Marakwet District Elegeyo-Marakwet15.369,998Kapsowar Kapsowar9,152
Tharaka District Tharaka - Nithi16.365,330Kathwana Kathwana-
Kericho Kericho17.758,339Kericho Kericho35,748
Kirinyaga Kirinyaga18.528,054Keruguya Keruguya15,287
Kiambu Kiambu19.1,623,282Kiambu Kiambu21,234
Kilifi Kilifi20.1,109,735Kilifi Kilifi46,118
Kisii Kisii21.1,152,282Kisii Kisii28,547
Kisumu Kisumu22.968,909Kisumu Kisumu216,479
Trans Nzoia Trans Nzoia23.818,757Kitale Kitale75,123
Kitui Kitui24.1,012,709Kitui Kitui15,954
Kwale Kwale25.649,931Kwale Kwale4,883
Lamu Lamu26.101,539Lamu Lamu24,525
Turkana Turkana27.855,399Lodwar Lodwar20,219
Machakos Machakos28.1,098,584Machakos Machakos31,971
Mandera Mandera29.1,025,756Mandera Mandera36,076
Samburu Samburu30.223,947Maralal Maralal20,841
Marsabit Marsabit31.291,166Marsabit Marsabit15,361
Vihiga Vihiga32.554,622Mbale Mbale60,000
Meru Meru33.1,356,301Meru Meru47,226
Migori Migori34.1,028,579Migori Migori35,240
Mombasa Mombasa35.939,370Mombasa Mombasa799,668
Murang'a District Murang'A36.942,581Murang'a Murang’a11,987
Nairobi Area Nairobi37.3,138,369Nairobi Nairobi2,750,547
Nakuru Nakuru38.1,603,325Nakuru Nakuru259,903
Laikipia Laikipia39.399,227Nanyuki Nanyuki36,142
Narok Narok40.850,920Narok Narok36,061
Nyamira District Nyamira41.598,252Nyamira Nyamira10,000
Nyeri Nyeri42.693,558Nyeri Nyeri51,084
Nyandarua Nyandarua43.596,268Ol Kalou Ol Kalou47,795
Siaya Siaya44.842,304Siaya Siaya15,354
Wajir Wajir45.661,941Wajir Wajir45,771
Makueni Makueni46.884,527Wote Wote6,133
Taita Taveta Taita Taveta47.284,657Wundanyi Wundanyi12,501